Traveling is back on the agenda

How to pack your suitcase in 30 minutes

Tomorrow I travel to the UK to stay with friends for 3 weeks.

Traveling has been a rare occasion for the past 2 years. Although I went to Germany in October to visit family I feel nervous. I'm afraid not packing enough, the wrong things, or forgetting half of what I need.

Photo by Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

In 2019 I traveled more or less every weekend for work.

Back then I organized live seminars and workshops for life coaches and had to be on location. Although stressful, it was a lot of fun and I met many incredible people. With the right system packing to go away was easy.

Here is how I managed to pack in 30 minutes every time:

Never unpack your toiletry bag

I had a spare of everything and just put the whole bag away when unpacking.

For the next trip I just grabbed it and put it back in the suitcase. Make sure you replace empty items in between trips.

Pro tip: Have a clear bag and only use the small containers for liquids. That way you never have to repack when you travel with cabin luggage only.

Pack one outfit for every day

The easiest to pack for women is dresses.

This gives you one piece of clothing per day. Add your underwear, sleepwear and shoes and you are set and will look smashing every day.

Pro tip: When you get home, wash everything and just pack it again for the next trip.

Pack your cabin luggage with security check in mind

Have your computer and toiletry bag on top.

When you get to security, simply follow this routine: Take 2-3 bins. Take off your jacket and scarf, place in bin. Unzip your bag, take out the toiletry bag and computer. Put them in the other bins.

Congratulation! You are done and good to fly.

I still have today and most of tomorrow to pack. I've already laid out most of the clothes, and I made a packing list in Notion. Nothing will fall through the cracks.

So, next week I will chime in from Westbury, Shropshire.

Watch me report from a short trip to Liverpool, attending a concert with my 80's heroes A-ha. Talk about walking down memory lane.

Have a great week, and I'll talk to you soon!xo, Yvonne

🖊️ This week's publications

This is a selection of what I published this week. Here you can find all my articles on Medium.

🕯️Inspiration to go slow

When you can't travel but want to see the world, check out Earthcam.

They are live streaming from major cities, rural areas and beaches. You can watch birds hatching, or chicken roaming around the garden.

During the long dark winter months I usually tuned in during the afternoon to watch the sun rise over the Ojai Valley in California. Virtual sun works!