Traveling on your own ...

... curse or blessing?

I had a lengthy newsletter started, about the habits of a solopreneur.

And then I went on vacation and the scenery outside my cabin stopped me from writing. So I’m typing this just a few hours before publishing, over breakfast.

Outside the world passes by, right now with an orange glow just above the horizon and a dark blue sky above. In a few hours we will drop anchor at the North Cape, Europe’s furthermost northern point. Kinda the end of the world.

I have been traveling «Hurtigruten», Norway’s coastal liner, since Tuesday evening. It’s been a whirlwind of different ports, sightseeing, landscape gazing and making new aquaintances.

It is the first trip I ever have taken on my own. Really on my own. Prior to this I have traveled alone but as part of a group. I knew then I was taken care of, there was a program we would stick to and I would hang with the same people.

Being on this boat is a bit similar, as a lot of them that chartered on in Bergen will stay all the way back to Bergen, like me. We have fixed seats over dinner, and I got placed at a table with 2 German ladies that also travel on their own.

On the second evening of our voyage they also organized a meet and greet for all on-their-own travelers, so I met more people.

Not necessarily what I wanted from this trip. I had the urge to be on my own, I wanted to work, and read and knit and just enjoy myself and the views.

And now I find myself talking to people, which is nice, but also met with expectations. «What are you gonna do at the next port?»

I noticed yesterday that I fell into the group trap, hanging with people. And I don’t know right now how to get rid of them again… such a first world problem.

Most of my new friends have expeditions booked today, so they will be off on their adventures and I can be create my own. It’s fascinating to see how some people have the need to socialize, while others like me absolutely want to be left alone.

Which type would survive in the wild?

Here is another mind game I often play while traveling. When I sit in confined spaces, like plane, train or ship, I wonder about the tv-show «Lost». And, in case something happened, I know I would be «trapped» with the people currently surrounding me.

Who would I befriend, who would I absolutely adore and maybe even fall in love with? And who would I detest and hate? What alliences would I build and who would I try to get rid of? Try this next time you are on a bus or something.

While I was planning for this trip I also planned to work. Not only client work, but definitely spend time on my own projects. It hasn’t happened yet.

One reason for this is the wifi on board. It’s not that it is so bad, it’s just that they have blocked a lot of services, websites and apps. So not only do I get a (much needed) vacation, I also get an unvoluntary digital detox.

I have to admit I enjoy this more than I thought I would. Not being able to check messages, workflows and Twitter all the time is a relief. And makes me wonder how I could organize my life in a way that I have less of that any regular day.

I already started when I began my latest project - getting all the work for my side-business done in 10 hours or less per week. (This is what the newsletter was going to be about.) With only 10 hours you have to be ruthless how to spend them so you actually get the important work done.

I will dive back into that project once I’m home. For now I have another week of sea voyage ahead of me. Wish me calm waters, and clear skies especially at night. After all, we are here chasing the northern lights, and so far it has been absent.

Talk to you soon! Take care, and put the phone down once in a while.

Yvonne

For more pictures of this trip, follow me on Instagram: