Time waits for no one

Lets make the most of it every day

This week I got reminded how easy it is to waste your time (and life).

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

In 2007 I met this guy through mutual friends. We clicked easily and started an on/off relationship that lasted 10 years. 

This post is not about the crappy relationship though (or my stupidity).

In 2002 this guy had moved into a tiny studio apartment.

He had recently been through a rough break up that left him defeated and bitter. He and his ex had sold their house, and he was able to pay for the apartment with the money he got from that sale, and live mortgage free. 

The plan was to redecorate and flip the apartment within 2 years.

But nothing happened.

The newfound freedom to go out on the town and get drunk with his buddies was too good.

When I stepped into his life in 2007 the only redecorating that had taken place was a remodel of the bathroom. The rest was still crappy. Action was taken sparingly and with huge breaks in between.

When I in 2017 finally was strong enough to step away from the whole disaster the apartment was in the worst state ever.

Half of it had been sealed off to get work done, with plastering and painting etc. All items and furniture had been crammed in the remaining half. And nothing happened, and it had looked like that for at least 6 months already.

Today, as I’m writing this, the apartment finally went on sale.

It is done and looks beautiful.

And it took 20 years. It made me realize that we carefully have to choose what experiences we want to look back on when we step away from our lives. Is it really just working long hours, even on the weekends and spending your spare time drinking and checking up girls?

It sounds like fun, and for most of us it is not enough.

I know for sure I want more than that.

So here I am, once again taking stock of my life and my work - while I’m sitting in the sun on my balcony. Realizing I already have a lot of what I desire. Amongst them the freedom to work when I want, not when someone tells me to.

I urgently, yet stressfree, want to step onto the track that gets me to where I want to be.

And here is a reminder for all of us - the journey is the way, not the destination. Make sure your moments are filled with joy and peace of mind. Allow yourself to step out of the hamster wheel once in a while.

xo, Yvonne

🖊️ This week's publications

🕯️Inspiration to go slow

If you have a garden, plant a tree or a new bush. Smell the roses (so to speak), maw the grass, or lounge in the sun.

If you have a balcony, get some potted flowers and surround yourself with color. Use the space as much as you can when the weather is nice.

Photo by Artur Aleksanian on Unsplash

If you don't have an outside living space, get some indoor plants and check up on those you have. Open the windows and let the summer breeze flow through your apartment. 

Summer is a time that invites us to slow down, to spend time outside, meet friends and family, go on vacation even. Make the most of the long warm days, it will be dark and cold soon enough.

📖 Currently reading

"4000" weeks by Oliver Burkeman

Mr Burkeman tells how the desire to get more and more done is far-fetched and will never work. We should instead be cautious what we give our attention to and make tough choices.

It's interesting how this has been the flavor of the week. Coming back from vacation I noticed how much more I want to be able to go for long walks, travel to new places and not spend all day in front of a computer screen.

At the same time I went into mental arithmetic once again, trying to come up with a solid plan to get the most done every day and have time for every project I want to be a part of. I have done this for 15+ years, and so far nothing has worked - the same said Oliver Burkeman in his book. 

I have just started reading this book, but so far he has confirmed many of my own thoughts around the topic of productivity. Looking forward to discover his approach to get out of the productivity trap and stepping into a fulfilled life where enough of the essential is getting done.