Your thoughts shape your life

How to use the law of attraction to live quietly

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

On 26 March 2006, the movie «The secret» premiered.

In case you haven’t seen it, the movie outlines the greatest secret of our times - The Law of Attraction. This law states that you attract what you are thinking about and what you match vibrationally.

The movie was a great success.

I too was a big fan until I started wondering why things still weren’t the way I wanted them to be.

I did what the movie told me. I sat and visualized what I wanted. So why wasn’t this working?

In later teachings I realized that you also need an element of action. Sitting and meditating will only get you so far, you also need to do something.

With the doing came - you guessed it - the high productivity, stress and burnout.

Needless to say my life still didn’t look the way I wanted.

I visualized my desires, I took the action - still nothing.

Writing last weeks newsletter brought a possible breakthrough. While I pondered about complaining about unwanted stuff, I realized that complaining and talking about problems makes them bigger.

I wanted to stop this behavior.

Suddenly I checked my bookcase, and grabbed «Law of Attraction» by Esther & Jerry Hicks.

Here it seems I found the until now missing pieces. Like attracts like, this is what the law is about. So when we complain or talk about the problems, we attract more thoughts of the same and in the end, we create more of the problems and unwanted situations.

Your emotions are your guiding star

Your negative thoughts come with negative emotions.

You will feel down, depressed, anxious - you name it. Think happy and uplifting thoughts, and you will be joyful and happy.

In theory, it’s very easy.

Just switch your thoughts.

But monitoring your thoughts is hard. Most of the time we are not even aware of what we are thinking. But we know at any time how we are feeling.

Just try it right now - how do you feel in this moment? Calm? Sad? Joyful?

Change your thought, change your emotion

So when you feel not so good, there is a thought creating that feeling.

Try to find out what you were thinking when you started to feel like crap. Sometimes you can, and sometimes you will have no clue. It doesn’t matter, because all you need is a thought that makes you feel better.

You can drag out a happy memory, something desirable you want to experience, or maybe just listen to a happy song.

Anything goes, the important thing is to get out of the negative spiral that will only attract more negative to it.

Bridge the gap

When you are deep in the trenches, suddenly looking for happiness can be too big of a step.

You can easily bridge that gap with thoughts that get slightly more and more positive. When it comes to living quiet and stress-free it is a big step to go from «I have so much to do!!» panic to «I’m calm and collected.»

Here is how you could bridge the gap:

I have so much to do. I don’t even know where to start. I’m so stressed out right now. I just take a deep breath right now. Then I will sit down and write a list of everything that needs to be done. This will give me an overview. Then I can sort this by priority. And then I will see what I need to do right now and what can wait. Not everything needs to be done right now. It’s probably just 3-4 things that are urgent. I can manage that. I still have many hours today to accomplish things. If I turn off my phone and close the door I can work quickly without interruptions. I will concentrate on the urgent things and get them done. I can do this. I have done this before. I can do this again.

Just pick a thought that makes you feel a tiny bit better. And then another one until you feel great and positive again.

Write down what you desire

Whenever I realize I’m deeply unhappy with an area of my life, I script my ideal outcome.

What do I want my life to look like in this area?

For my quiet living it looks like this:

Every day I wake up happy, content and calm. I start my day with a calm activity, like reading or going for a walk. My work day starts with the outline of what I would like to accomplish today. I check if this is attainable and adjust accordingly. With a list I start on the most urgent tasks, or the one that require the most energy. I take frequent breaks and remember to take some deep breaths between tasks. I read and answer emails and messages twice a day. I focus on the activities I am doing instead of reacting to office politics or other people’s emotions. I create pockets of time to read, go for walks or just sit and reflect.

Be happy and know things will change

When I started on this journey I would go ahead and imagine what I want to have in my life. And then I would complain that it hadn’t arrived yet.

Whenever I faltered from my vision I energetically hit the breaks. When things didn’t show up it was because I stopped believing I could have it. It’s not here yet so I probably don’t deserve it.

The law works when you have unwavering faith. Trust that whatever you wish for is on it’s way. Keep imagining it with the full force of positive emotions the images give you. Imagine it and expect it to happen.

xo, Yvonne

TL;DR

  • Use your positive emotions to guide you where you want to be

  • Change your thoughts to create more positive emotions

  • Bridge the gap from where you are to where you want to be with small steps

  • Script what you want your life to be like

  • Be happy and expect things to come your way

Do you have an area you would love to change, but don't know how to change your negative thoughts about it? Reply and let me know, I'm happy to help!

🖊️ This week's publications